Home Page


The curriculum consists of all the activities planned by the school to promote children’s learning. It is built around the Foundation Phase Framework, Curriculum 2008, the Skills Framework and the Literacy and Numeracy Framework. It is concerned not only with the content of the curriculum but also the development of skills, how the children learn and how teachers teach most effectively. 



The Literacy & Numeracy Framework (LNF)


The Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF) has been designed by the Welsh Government (WG), so that our children develop excellent literacy and numeracy skills during their time at school. It provides all learners aged 5-14 years with clear annual expected outcomes for literacy and numeracy.

For further information, please click


Foundation Phase  Framework.

This document sets out the curriculum and outcomes for 3 to 7-year-olds in Wales in the foundation phase.

 The statutory areas of learning in the foundation phase are:

·         personal and social development, well-being and cultural diversity

·         language, literacy and communication skills

·         mathematical development

·         Welsh language evelopment

·         knowledge and understanding of the world

·         physical development

·         creative development.

For each area of learning the educational programme sets out what children should be taught and the outcomes set out the expected standards of children’s performance.



From September 2011 a tooth brushing programme aimed at improving dental health has run throughout the Foundation Phase. Children are given their own toothbrush to keep in class and will take part in supervised tooth brushing as part of the school day. Parents are encouraged to allow their children to take part in this programme and will receive paperwork about the scheme, together with consent forms on joining the school.